Pigs are pretty

I knew I loved this pig as soon as I spotted her.

It was just another trip to Goodwill. I haven’t been having the best luck at finding anything at this Goodwill, but this was there this time!

20130327-145544.jpg

I like to make up stories behind things that I get at the thrift store. This one, I couldn’t help but think of a man who wanted to please his wife by making her a cutting board. They couldn’t afford the expensive retail version that she spotted in a catalog. So, off he went to his workshop.

She spent several days using this one, but noticed the shavings in her food. It just wasn’t made out of the same wood as that beautiful one she spotted. So, off to Goodwill it went. Scratches and all.

20130327-145951.jpg

I was so excited, as I knew what stain I was going to put on her.

I had some Kona stain at home and knew it would be perfect. I rounded her edges and then, decided not to sand down those cutting marks. I like her just the way she is.

20130327-150218.jpg

20130327-150246.jpg

I think she looks so pretty on my hutch.

Have you found anything good at your Goodwill recently?

LeeAnn

Linked to:
Savvy southern style


The Shabby Nest

